Second week of Big Game project!

So this week has been filled with tasks that have felt as if progress are going sideways. The plan was to start merging what I had done last week into an alpha version of the game, but as it is with most programming there were some obstacles right from the start of the week.

The first obstacle was that our AI monsters did not have pathfinding so they kept getting stuck in objects. To fix this I had to learn how to implement A* correctly. After watching some youtube tutorials I felt that I had a slight clue how it works so I tried to implement it. Implemention went smoothly but I had trouble to limit the monsters movements, the troubles I had was that the monsters moved on different paths and did not move correctly towards their targets. Later in the week I got some animations and models that I implemented into the game with limited problems.

The second problem was to get all our towers, monsters and spells to collide with the right targets. To solve this we ended up creating different layers for spells and actors which I then applied to all the actors and spells we are using in our game.

At the end of the week it all ended up pretty good. We have a version of the game where we can move around a champion in our world and it can cast spells on monsters and towers.

For the next week I am planning to remake the AI to work much more fluid and add target priorities to make the AI much smarter in the way it choose target.

Leave a comment