Sixth week of Big Game project

Time is flying past and soon it is time for GGC. We had a lot to do this week and we were supposed to have our feature freeze after this week.

However, I could not work as much because I got sick halfway into the week and was bedridden for the remainder of the week. But what I did get done was that I created control nodes that the teams can take over to gain presence on the map. When the team’s champions capture a control node the commander gets the ability to build structures around that node and the node passively increase the commander’s income. The control zones have a smaller circle that is supposed to be a king of the hill type of point on the map where the team with the most players inside the circle gains control of the node. This is achieved with a trigger collider and one list for each object. I then compare the size of the lists and the team with the largest gain influence of that node.

I also continued my work on our big create Snappy. I added some network code so that the code I had previously done would update over the network. Snappy currently adds all targets within a radius around it to a list. It then targets the closest player and chases the target until it reaches it and then attacks.

Next week we will have our feature freeze. There are still some core mechanics that we need to implement but we will keep it short so that we can start to work with polishing our game.

Leave a comment