Seventh week of Big Game project

This week I have worked on a lot of different artifacts. There has been a lot that have needed bug fixing and I had to take care of that. The first thing I started working on was fixing our experience system because it did not update on the network. For some reason I got a null reference error when I was using children of a gameobject so to fix this I made the children into their own gameobjects and the null reference problem was fixed.

The second fix I had to do was to add some rules to our capture zones. With the addition of neutral npc’s (npc’s that belong to neither team) that is supposed to block the teams from capturing the zone they are protecting, I needed to make sure that the teams cannot capture the zones before the npc’s are dead. To do this I made a list to which I added the neutral npc’s when they are created and deleted them when they died. If the list is empty the timer for capturing the zones are able to increase or decrease.

Leave a comment