Welcome to the week of hell

This week has almost come to an end. I meant to write in the beginning of the week but I have not had time to do so. This week has been the start of hell. It started with us having our assignment in advanced game design to create a board game and getting our assignment in Serious Game. And guess what, it is to create a board game! Only that we only have two week to complete this assignment. In the upcoming weeks I have to write a postmortem and design document in advanced game design and a postmortem for serious games while having enough time to work with my two groups and creating the board games. Welcome to hell.

One of my individual goals for this week was to start blogging more. I cannot say that I have completed this goal and I only have myself to blame. I have prioritized working before writing.

To actually talk about the work I have done this week; in advanced game design I have worked in my group to get a prototype that we could have other groups test at the end of the week. We did some solid work on Wednesday and we got our game working. Something that went really well was our prototyping; we built small and expanded with a system at a time. When we got all our units into the game we felt that it was playable but it will still need a lot of tuning. Our saboteur unit feel very out of place and does not impact the game that much which we need to solve. We also have no way of lowering other players points so if one gets close to winning the other players cannot catch up. We have thought about adding stealing to the game but we felt that we should wait with adding until the other groups have tested our game.

In serious games we have prototyped and found a game that we think will be interesting and serve the purpose of the course. We chose to research and create a game about the problematic about overfishing. I think that our solution will show the problem in a fun way. The game works like this; there are three boxes that represent oxygen level, algae level and fish level. One player plays as the health inspection and his / hers job is to keep the oxygen and algae level down and fish level up. The other player plays as a fisherman, his / hers only job is to catch as many fish as possible. The game is divided into the seasons of a year and during one season the players will try to pass laws that work in their favor. To pass these the players have lobby points. They each try to pass one bill at the time and the person that bets the most lobby points on a bill, pass his / hers law. The bill then plays during the different seasons.

I think I have managed to sum up my work for this week. Hopefully the text has some structure and decent grammar. I really have no clue how to end this wall of text so I am going to end it right now.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Weekly reflections | Group2 Board Game Development

    Leave a comment